So this week, I didn’t feel I had too many bloopers (still a few dusty bits on the scans, despite trying to be as clean as possible), but these were shots I felt didn’t thematically go with the others I picked for the 52Rolls.net posting.

This first one I metered off the snow, plus I opened a stop for the yellow filter, and I wanted the snow in about Zone 7, with some detail but still close to pure white.  So I opened up two more stops.  Meter always reads Zone 5 + 2 stops for my snow + 1 stop for the filter.  I decided to just let the rest of the scene fall where it may. Exposure-wise I am pretty happy with the results, I still see some detail in the dark parts of the driveway, but I think my shutter speeds might be a bit off as the snow got a little blown out.  Subject-wise it just ok, I mean its just a wet driveway and some snow.  Still as a newbie attempting to wrap my head around zones and such, I think it was a good exercise.

Snow and Rain f5.6, 1/30, yellow filter #15 Yashica Mat 124G Kodak TMax 100 Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20C
Snow and Rain
f5.6, 1/30, yellow filter #15
Yashica Mat 124G
Kodak TMax 100
Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20C

So this next one also metered basically at the same level, but I wanted a narrower depth of field, so I put it at f4, 1/60.  I seem to have lost a little snow detail, but got a bit of swirly bokeh in the background, something I always like. But my weakest shot of the roll.

Dirty Snow f4, 1/60, yellow filter #15 Yashica Mat 124G Kodak TMax 100 Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20 C
Dirty Snow
f4, 1/60, yellow filter #15
Yashica Mat 124G
Kodak TMax 100
Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20 C

This last one I was trying for some snow/shadow play on the back deck.  The lens on my Yashica tends to distort quite a bit near the edges, and I am still a little rusty with my TLR alignment.

Snow/Shadows f16, 1/30, no filter Yashica Mat 124G Kodak TMax 100 Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20C
Snow/Shadows
f16, 1/30, no filter
Yashica Mat 124G
Kodak TMax 100
Ilfotec DD-X, 7 mins @ 20C
