Along with Worldwide Pinhole Photography Day, I brought my Olympus OM-2n to Gillette Castle.  After setting up the pinhole shot, I took a shot with my 35mm to get a better sense of the field of view the Vermeer 6×6 has.  I used Ilford SFX200 film, with a Tiffen 25 red filter, and my Zuiko 35-105mm lens, always at the 35mm setting.  The pinhole has a significantly wider field of view, I’m guessing somewhere equal to a 21mm lens.  For all the matching shots I just placed the Oly on top of the pinhole camera, focused and shot.  I developed in Ilford DD-X for 10mins at roughly 20C.

First I’ll post the Olympus shots followed by the corresponding pinhole shots.  The pinhole was with 6×6 on 120 film, so the perspective is a little different, plus I used Kodak Portra 160 and most of those exposures were 1 minute+.

Olympus Approach
Olympus Approach

Approach

Olympus Arch
Olympus Arch

Under the Arch

Olympus Covered Porch
Olympus Covered Porch

Covered Porch

Olympus Walkway
Olympus Walkway

Walkway

I also just took some general shots of the Castle and grounds.  This was my first time using SFX and I must say even with the red filter I am sort of underwhelmed with the results.  I get better contrast (esp sky and clouds) using the same filter with Tri-X or FP4+.  I still have a number of rolls of it, so I’ll try it as just a regular B&W and with a true IR filter, though as I understand it most people do not consider it even a near-IR film.

Overlook
Overlook
Back
Back
Front
Front
Front 2
Front 2
Picnic
Picnic
Wall and Arch
Wall and Arch

 

