Moffett Field, Mountain View California, former home of one of the largest freestanding structures in the world, Hanger One, and site of a stop on the “Wings of Freedom” tour.  This is essentially a traveling museum with bombers and fighters from WWII, available for rides.  I was in town on business and had a day off, so my brother and I headed there after the Irish Fest.  I don’t think I’ve acted like a little kid in years, both my brother and I were grinning and smiling the entire time.

And when the B-17 fired up for a flight?  I was jumping up and down.  Just amazing machines.  All shots with my Kodak Retina IIIc, on Ilford FP4+, developed in Ilfosol 3.  I think I overcooked them (6 mins @ 20C) and there are some serious chunks of grain in many of the shots.

Hanger One.  It is mammoth.
Hanger One. It is mammoth.
P-51 Mustang
P-51 Mustang
P-51 Mustang
P-51 Mustang
Ton Delayo, B-25
Ton Delayo, B-25
B-25 nose gun
B-25 nose gun
B-17
B-17
B-17 ball turret
B-17 ball turret
B-17 under wing
B-17 under wing
"Witchcraft", B-24 Liberator
“Witchcraft”, B-24 Liberator
B-24 nose
B-24 nose
B-24 and people for scale
B-24 and people for scale

 

