On the way back from the Renaissance Faire, I took the opportunity of a lovely to ride the seasonal ferry across the Connecticut River.  I was going from the Chester (western) side of the river back to my house on the east side of the river.  Above the eastern ferry dock sits Gillette’s Castle, the subject of my Worldwide Pinhole Day shots.  It had been a number of years since I took the ferry from the west to the east, so I thought it would be a great subject to finish out my roll of Ilford SFX 200.

The ferry itself has been running in various guises since the mid-1700s.  It’s been the subject of a few budget cut proposals, but public outcry has saved it (so far).  There are more expensive things to cut in the state’s budget in any event.

So these shots were all with my Canon FTb using the internal light meter, onto Ilford SFX 200, and developed in Ilfosol 3 1+9, 6 mins @ 20C.  These needed almost no adjustments and are basically straight from the scanner, with perhaps a small boo-boo healing or two.  I took all of them on the moving ferry and was lucky to be close to the front.

Dock & Castle
Dock & Castle
Hadlyme
Hadlyme
Lush Trees
Lush Trees
Hadlyme Dock
Hadlyme Dock

 

I like the compositions on all of these, but it might be neat to do the same ferry ride again, but with some true IR film and an IR filter.  I think the Hadlyme side is the more photogenic of the two, and especially with the Castle sort of glowering over the forest, would be a subject.  Maybe a round-trip with some IR shots of the Castle from the park as well.

