We had a lot of snow this winter, so I had numerous chances to get out in the falling snow and try getting different looks as the snow fell, but with limited depth of field and a high shutter speed in order to freeze the snow itself, rather than the background.

I developed a roll shot with my Leitz-Minolta CL and M-Rokkor 40mm/f2 lens.  Film is Tri-X, developed in Rodinal 1+100 semi-stand.  Two gentle inversions at the start, again at 20 and 40 mins, 1 hour total developing time.  This technique (at least in my experience) seems to result in cobble-stone sized grain with Tri-X.  I think for next winter and shots like this, I will try using a different developer, maybe DD-X or Perceptol.  It is hard to get smooth grain though when shutter speeds need to be high, esp when it is snowing and light is often quite subdued.  Still, a few of these turned out pretty good and it is a fun experiment, and an excuse to get out of the house and run around in the falling snow.  Not that I really need an excuse.

I cropped each of these a little, but otherwise they are as the scanner scanned them.  The shovel one turned out best IMO.

Lone pine tree
Lone pine tree
Trio of pine trees
Trio of pine trees
Shovel handle, ready to shovel fresh snow.
Shovel handle, ready to shovel fresh snow.
