It’s been a while since I shot my Kodak Retina IIIc, a delightful little rangerfinder with sharp glass and a super quiet leaf shutter.  Mine has a  50mm Schneider Kreuznach Xenon, f2 wide open.  I wrote more details in another post, but it has been a while since I shot much with it.

I had it loaded with Ilford HP5+ and decided to shoot with my current developer soup in mind, another Ilford product, Perceptol. Looking at the Massive Dev chart, I saw an entry for shooting at EI 200, and souped with Perceptol 1+2 for 14 minutes, so I gave that a whirl.

I went for hike at a local state park and after chatting with a guy about my old BMW and having his dog start barking at me for no apparent reason, I headed out with Gossen light meter in hand and Retina on my trusty Black Rapid RS-7.

I got a few really nice shots out of this outing, including one of a small pond with some reeds on both shores.  It might be my fav shot of the year so far.  I hope to print this on silver-gelatin FB paper and have it available for a local camera club gallery show.  I will have to look at the negative closer, but I swear there is so little grain in this shot that I am just astounded.  I believe it was shot at 1/125 and f8.

reed_echo013

 

This tangle of vines was near the pond and I thought would make a good subject.  Tough to get a nice range of tones in the shade.

Vineland
Vineland

On the hike up to the overlook, I saw this cool tree with a couple of holes, I’m guessing from knots that fell out or were dug out. Reminded me of Treebeard from Lord of the Rings.  This is another one I hope to print.

Tree, no beard
Tree, no beard

My last subject was a lone bench at an overlook, which despite being rather high above the river, has almost no sight lines because of all the vegetation. It really is not much of an overlook, but it is a cool bench.

Bench and No View
Bench and No View
View of Bench
View of Bench

All of the shots I adjust the levels a little from the scan, mainly bringing the white slider down and letting the others stay as scanned.

I’m pretty happy with these and hope to keep shooting the Retina this year.  I forgot that the results are worth some of its quirks.

My 2015 ‘Year of the Print’ project has kind of languished. It is tough when the community darkroom is only open 4 hours on the weekend, and while there are a couple late nights, I work odd hours (live in eastern time zone, work pacific time zone hours, +3).

